Makeup Revolution Velvet Lip Lacquer in ‘You Took My Love’ | Dupe for Lime Crime Velvetines?

IMG_20150125_172703

I have two things that I want to start this post with and I am confused about which one to go for because I am itching to say both of them equally. Tough decisions.

Anyway, beginning with one of them, I am super surprised that these gorgeous, gorgeous lip lacquers by Makeup Revolution haven’t taken the beauty blog world by storm. I have hardly seen 2-3 posts by Indian bloggers about them and, in fact, when I actually bought them, there were barely any.

The second thing I wanted to share was that I was craving Lime Crime Velvetines for the longest time but I have nobody whomΒ I can ask to bring it for me from the US without getting embarrassed. But are these Makeup Revolution ones the dupes for Lime Crime? Read on:

IMG_20150125_172503

These are matte liquid lipsticks that come in a variety of colors and Makeup Revolution is a European brand that is cruelty-free *does a happy dance in her head*. The best part is that the concept is quite similar to Lime Crime Velvetines, which are again matte liquid lipsticks which have been given love by a lot of people all over the world. Let’s have a point by point analysis of the ‘Makeup Revolution Salvation Velvet Lip Lacquer’ in shade ‘You Took My Love’ [pheww! for the name!!].

IMG_20150125_172244

What I like:

1. Cruelty-free brand

2. Pigmentation is amazing, goes opaque in even one swipe

3. Bright pink/fuchsia color that is usually difficult to find in affordable brands

4. True matte that doesn’t feel rough or settles into fine lines on lips (it’s not moisturizing but not inconvenient either, you’ll have to use a lip balm before applying). Do note that the ‘velvet’ lip lacquers are matte while the ‘intense’ ones are glossy.

5. Sets in as soon as you apply it and stays for a good 3-4 hours, I guess

6. WideΒ range of colorsΒ in this range

7. Pretty much affordable (because it’s always on sale on Jabong)

IMG_20150125_172818

What I didn’t so much like:

1. This particular shade is very in-your-face and you need quite some guts to pull this off but it’s downright pretty anyway. πŸ™‚ I have only worn it twice so far. Once, when I just received it, I wore it immediately and went off to run errands, got looked at like I was a funny creature. πŸ˜› Second time I wore it to a friend’s wedding and, honestly, I just did not have the time to glance in the mirror once I got ready otherwise I probably would have removed it because I was scared. A girl walked up to me in the wedding to know where I bought this from. πŸ˜€ (yayayayyaya :D)

2. The point basically is that it is a blue-based pink/fuchsia. So, it doesn’t work very well for people with yellow undertones (like myself). It looked good in the wedding because we were mostly under lights which made it look less blue and my face less yellow (so much of explanation, much wow). I knew that it is blue-based even when I bought it but I loved the color way too much and I know that I’ll manage to pull it off somehow in dressy enough occasions. I am happy with it.

3. The color selection is mostly not in tune with Indian skin tones, I wish they come up with more colors, that would be amazing!

1

I am wearing it here and it looks fine because of the lights, else it does look a little blue on my yellow undertone face.

Now the million dollar question of whether it’s a dupe for Lime Crime Velvetine or not. First of all, I have not used them. Secondly, from the swatches and everything, I have felt that the Lime Crime Velvetines are more deep, as in the pigments are deeper so they would probably look more sophisticated. I hope I am making sense here. But apart from all that, these are anyway really amazing to own and I whole-heartedly recommend.

Here’s the link where you can buy it on Jabong. I really wish to buy another shade. πŸ˜›

IMG_20150125_172430

14 thoughts on “Makeup Revolution Velvet Lip Lacquer in ‘You Took My Love’ | Dupe for Lime Crime Velvetines?

  1. I most really thank you from the core of my heart…for enlightening us mere mortal with such a crucial, existential question…which is…to use Fuchsia or to use Lime Crime!!! I think i will have a sleepless night ahead…just trying to figure it all out!!! I am almost overcome with emotions…let me go find a tissue! πŸ˜› πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  2. My friend uses Lime Crime and she loves it! She had once shown me the website and pointed out what she owns. I think she says its thicker but super pigmented and looks like Matt velvet after application. Problem is you can only order it online. This looks good. Not a chance I will use it as I am a scaredy cat about bright colors as of now. But never say never. πŸ˜€

  3. This looks lovely on you. It does have a blue undertone on you but I think it just makes it look more lovely on you. With all the bad publicity surrounding lime crime I think this is actually a better option right now.

    • Thanks Christina! and thank you so much for visiting πŸ™‚ , you are right about the controversy part, really, a brand as renowned as them needs to pull themselves up!

  4. Yo Srish! Thanks for tagging my post babe!
    The million $$ question – Lime Crime or this! I quite like the formula up there. Its so bright n Matte! So definitely a good dupe for Lime Crime Velvetine’s. Whats the stay like for these? The price is insanely good. I’d definitely be keen on picking up a shade or 2 when I come to India next!

Have something to say? I would love to hear from you :)

