Happy Republic Day! | Monday Mumbles 8

DSC_0132

Hello World and special hello fellow Indians! πŸ™‚ Happy Republic Day to all of us. I had a different post planned for today’s Monday Mumbles and I had drafted some of it sometime back, but let’s do this today. πŸ™‚

I didn’t watch the entire parade today (and I don’t think I have ever done it), but when I was watching my favorite part, the state displays (Jhanki), I literally had tears in my eyes because of the cultural richness that our country boasts of and this, my friends, was only for representational purposes. Last night, I read this post by Verseherder and I realized that even though he couldn’t relate to the Madras things that the another blog mentioned (you need to read the post for the context), I am sure both of the Madras versions exist. We have so much cultural and religious diversity, let’s not even go to the geographical diversities, that everyone has their own version of a place, sometimes overlapping with each other’s version and sometimes not, and it is something to be really, really proud of. So much of art, so much of handicraft, so much of culture is lying everywhere you go in India, its marvelous! I hope I am able to contribute towards conserving the arts and cultures of our country in some way because let’s face it, slowly, little by little, we are losing it. I do have things in my mind but I don’t know whether I’ll be able to materialize them.

Anyway, tell me, do you have any memories about watching the Republic Day Parade, LIVE or on TV? By the way, once we went for watching it LIVE and it was one hell of an experience!

If you want to ask or share anything with the readers, we can do that in next Monday Mumbles. Drop me an email at srish.myblog@gmail.com.

PS: Look at today’s Google doodle, the best part is it highlights my favorite thing from the parade, the state and other things moving displays.

Capture

25 thoughts on “Happy Republic Day! | Monday Mumbles 8

  1. Happy republic day .. from live i remember I was part of the ncc cadets who did the parade and as you say it was a lovely experience although the camp 15 days prior to that and walking up and down all day long was not that good at that time πŸ™‚

  2. Earlier it used to be the only day in the entire year when I would wake up early to watch the parade. Dad and me would sit through the entire parade. Once we moved to Pune,the tradition stopped.

  3. Well, I would like to differ in opinion here.
    I don’t understand what exactly is to be proud of about the high cultural and religious diversity. They too create differences, meaningless paradigms and expectations. Cultural and religious diversity is good if it comes with the condition that people are intelligent enough not to become moral polices about the same and everyone has a fair choice.
    Also, what exactly are we loosing ?
    Don’t you think getting global cultural mixup healing what you sense we are loosing?

    • yes, it has created differences, but i don’t know if i would have liked it more when all of our cultures, traditions, faiths were exactly the same. πŸ™‚ of course, it’s a highly ideal scenario that everyone starts respecting and enjoying other people’s cultures and faiths but I would love to have that, instead of all of us being the same and therefore no fight. instead, all of us not fighting and mingling with each other’s culture would be what i would like.

      didn’t understand your last line, some typo there i guess. also, what i think we are losing is that many of the arts are dying down because they are not as easily accessible or scale-able or economical like machine made products are. i really don’t want those arts to die down. Most importantly, i think you’re assuming that we start using indian products and discarding foreign products. I, for one, am not up for that, but do you really think that our arts, our fabrics are really the kinds for which we have to give up on the other things that we use? Trust me, both can co-exist. International products as well as Indian handcrafted products.

      On Mon, Jan 26, 2015 at 6:10 PM, Life of Srish wrote:

      >

      • Okay, after understanding what we are loosing in the right sense now, the last sentence doesn’t hold any value. so forget it. πŸ˜›
        And, no, I didn’t assume we start using Indian products as a solution to that. I can vouch for Indian products when they are equally good as their foreign competitors and people are just not aware of the fact, but overall I would prefer quality and want Indian as well as International products to co-exist.

        • totally on you with the quality part, that’s why i don’t have an indian phone, but this post and my comment is written with arts in my mind not technology, for example, banarasi sarees, who buys the real deal when machine made ones are hundred times cheaper, there should be a way out where we are in a position to buy them both economically as well as availability and the artists also don’t have to work in such poor conditions.

          On Mon, Jan 26, 2015 at 6:46 PM, Life of Srish wrote:

          >

          • True that.
            But I don’t know what’s the quality quotient in both. However Indian handicrafts industry needs intelligent Business planning, I have felt this before too, and I believe you had shared a great article highlighting the issue. Precisely what needs to be done is the thing to think about. Now this whole issue fascinates me more as a business enthusiast and less because I think there is a need to preserve the cultural diversities. That’s the main difference of opinion I was trying to potray, I don’t truly have that conservation of diversity wali feeling with too much of proudness about the diversity in the first place.

  4. Yes, almost every year; I do watch the parade but like you, i have never watched it full.. And also, I have never watched KABHI KHUSHI KABHI GHAM in one sitting, even though i have watched full movie in segments.

    And the NARI SHAKTI theme was awesome. Brave girls have thrashed every stereotype

Have something to say? I would love to hear from you :)

