A Game of Thrones

I am actually considering doing back to back book opinions because I hate not being able to post about the books that I am reading right now. I also hate not posting about them in the sequence I read them in. πŸ˜› So, essentially, there are 4 books after this one and then I move on to 2015!

IMG_20150121_095410

A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin is the 17th book that I read in 2014. Like I have mentioned before, I have hardly done any of the cult favorites of my generation and I always feel left out, I have no idea how that happens but it does, I never get to reading/watching any of the cult favorites. For example, I haven’t read or watched Harry Potter (just the third movie to which we were taken for a school trip and I didn’t understand anything, neither did I try). Also, I always felt that I won’t be able to enjoy fantasy fiction as much as I enjoy reality. This book has proven me wrong. I loved it! Β It is a fierce tangle of kingdoms and kings and thrones and I am still in awe of the fact that so many people love it. I thought that it won’t be able to strike a chord with that many people, but look at how the show is doing!

It has a bit of too much of everything – violence, love, lust, greed, magic and so on. Is that the reason why people love it so much? I don’t know, but that sounds logical. I just did not understand one thing and I know I’ll get a lot of laughs for this! Why would someone go to so many ordeals just to get a throne? πŸ˜›Β  I guess we would have known had we been in the situation (I hope that happens never! πŸ˜› ). But, overall, I really enjoyed reading it and I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series of A Song of Ice and Fire. I actually need to catch up on a lot because the fifth season is going to be released in April I think and I really want to punch people in the face everyday who cannot stop giving me spoilers from all the seasons. I have watched till Season 2 and I really want to read the books before I move further with the show, but I’m pretty sure I won’t be able to read the books till April. I am very caught up with other things right now.

Now coming to the million dollar question of the book versus the show. First of all, I can almost never decide that about any books or movies. I think both provide some form of enrichment. Although there’s one thing that’s for certain, books are always more detailed, always. So, if you can live without the details, the enrichment that comes with it, you can skip the book because, let’s face it, the show is so much easier to watch. Also, at least in this case, the show is really, really brilliant.

That’s pretty much it. If you have watched the show or read the books, do share your experiences (without the spoilers!!). πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “A Game of Thrones

  1. In my CSE batch there are only two girls(including me) who love GOT. The other girls are always like”Vampire Diaries is so much better than GOT”….and I have to agree with them since i cannot come up with a good explanation of why GOT is better than VD. Please make a blog post on why GOT is better than everything….GOT is better than life,LOL

    • Haha, Smita, you are a true fan! πŸ˜€ I myself don’t know why it is so awesome, but yes, brilliantly written and brilliantly shot (the show i mean), i haven’t read/watched vampire diaries though :/ PS: welcome here πŸ™‚

      On Sat, Jan 31, 2015 at 11:36 PM, Life of Srish wrote:

      >

Have something to say? I would love to hear from you :)

