Stereotypes? | Monday Mumbles 3

DSC_0132

I like discussing stereotypes for fun. Like, which stereotype one fits into and which one breaks. I know that lots of people generalize everybody on the basis of stereotypical characteristics, but, in my opinion, if you don’t do that, discussing stereotypes could be fun. Today I am going to share with you some fun stereotypes that I fit into and some that I break. Please share whatever comes to your mind after reading these: 

  • Gender Stereotypes                                                                                                                                            
  • The ones that I fit into: I enjoy reading chic-lit novels and enjoy watching chic-flicks and, of course, I love shopping. 😀                                                                                                                                                          
  • The ones that I don’t fit into: Umm, I don’t know, I can’t think of any right now except that when I dance freely, I dance like a guy (a drunk guy as per most people) and honestly I don’t want to change that ever. 😀                                                                                                                                                                                                   
  • Caste Stereotypes                                                                                                                                                
  • The ones that I fit into: I am a Punjabi and, with all due modesty, I think I am very good at Bhangra. In fact, in my friend’s wedding recently, I actually did a proper Bhangra sequence (which involves a lot of wide-legged movements) in a sari! If anyone has seen proper Bhangras, they would find it hard to imagine someone doing it in a sari. I don’t know if it looked weird but I really, really enjoyed myself a lot. 🙂                                            
  • The ones that I don’t fit into: I am a vegetarian (not sure if it’s for forever), I am not much into drinking and, the best one, I am not so much into Rajma Chawal (a cult favorite North-Indian dish that is usually associated with Punjabis).                                                                                                                                                                            
  • Nationality Stereotypes                                                                                                                                      
  • The ones that I fit into: Like many fellow Indians, bargaining gives me a kick. 😀 And, yes, I spot things in brands and go like ‘ye toh wahan *insert some market* mei milta hai kaafi similar (oh, we get a similar thing in XYZ local market).                                                                                                                                                                 
  • The ones that I don’t fit into: I can’t think of any right now. I have this feeling that there must be some. I’ll update this if something crosses my mind.  

Now it’s your turn. Tell me anything that you can think of regarding stereotypes or anything that you thought of while reading this post. 🙂  

Also, if you want to share or ask something for the next ‘Monday Mumbles’, please drop me an email at srish.myblog@gmail.com. 

                             

14 thoughts on “Stereotypes? | Monday Mumbles 3

  1. haha, mast ekdam 😛
    Bhangra in a sari, super cool 😀 😛

    I hate all kinds of stereotyping waise, unless its in a fun way. and to be frank I have this theory of not even using stereotypical comments casually as well, but its a debatable topic and abhi ke liye chod dete hai. 😛
    For me, I don’t like (hate most) some new people when they expect me to be extremely extrovert and funny, and throw in; you know punjabis to aise hi hote hai type comments. The irony is that these are older people, like one higher generation, door ke relatives or family friends jo mujhe nahi jante achche se. Ab kya to relate karo itna sabse, aur kya hi baat karo zyada, so I stay serious and quite mostly. But what the hell do they know about me, ask those who know, my awesomeness is unmatched. 😀 😛 But I need my own comfort zone to get all talky-talky. 😛

  2. This is fun.. let me try to put down my answers:

    Gender Stereotypes :
    I Fit Into: I love To Shop, Big Time. I am in need of everything, always :D. Love makeup dress up etc. I like to look good.
    I don’t Fit Into: Unlike Most Girls and Esp Beauty Bloggers, I can go out in Just a Kajal and Lipstick. I am not too much deep into makeup. I am quite comfortable with the way I am. I don’t like to bitch and indulge in Gossips much. I like to live simple in that matter.

    Caste Stereotypes : I basically belong to Bihar, but hardly stayed there. Dad being in Air Force
    Fit Into: Hmm.. I had the problem of pronouncing the “R” and “Ra” in Hindi..(I don’t know how to put this in English)..My Friends made sure, I don’t have that anymore.

    Not Fit Into: Hmm.. Not sure, what are the exact features of people from Bihar., But one thing I don’t have is the ‘Tone’ and yes, the love for Government Jobs 😀

    Nationality Stereotypes:
    Fit Into: Love Bollywood Movies. Rich Food. Colorful Clothes. Festivities. Bargain. Social Life. Family

    Don’t Fit Into: Hmm a majority of Indians are Inclined towards West and Love to settle out there. They Feel India is Hopeless. I don’t fit into that. I love our country and wouldn’t want to leave it. I would love to Travel Around though 🙂

    • Haha! Reading your responses was so much fun, as you wrote it the same way as the post 😀 Lol about the govt jobs 😀 And I have so many similar Nationality Stereotypes as you,wonder how i forgot to mention rich food, that should actually come under two of my stereotypes, Indian + Punjabi 😀
      I love the nationality stereotype that you don’t fit into, I was actually going to write it, but a thought flashed – given the current condition of women, what if I had an option of living somewhere outside India, would I not want to? I honestly don’t know.

  3. just yesterday i was thinking how glad i am that there are so many stereotypes. imagine if everyone were unique and original (with as less social-conditioning as possible). i actually can’t 🙂

  4. Hahaha i love this post! Wonder how i missed it..
    Ok..gender stereotype: i love pink, i love to get dressy and I’m not the type to say I’ll wear a loose tee and skinny jeans and step out of my house. Breaking stereotype : though I’m nottt a tomboy i can always be found in the midst of a gang of guys hifi-ing and guffawing with them loudly!!!
    This is fun!!!! Should think up of more such stereotypical things i do!!

    • haha! this was fun 😀 i am totally the kinds you will see everywhere in jeans and loose tees (possibly even the same tees again and again 😀 ), except i am dressy in office 😀

      On Sun, Dec 28, 2014 at 8:13 AM, Life of Srish wrote:

      >

Have something to say? I would love to hear from you :)

